"Breakthrough Project Management in Capital and Construction Projects" Conference

Home>Conferences>Conference Breakthrough Project Management

What if your capex projects finished in two-thirds of the original duration?

Photo portrait de Ian Heptinstall

 

 

 

  • Monday 17th of October 2016 in Marris Consulting’s office in Paris

  • Presented by Ian Heptinstall, co-founder of Breakthrough Project Management

  • A 45-minute conference followed by discussions

 

The conference

 

Ian Heptinstall and Robert Bolton have just published (in August 2016) The Executive Guide to Breakthrough Project Management. The book outlines an innovative approach to managing capital and construction (Capex) projects, which delivers significant and sustainable benefits to both project clients and the project supply chain. Ian Heptinstall will present the book and answer questions. Participants will receive an autographed copy of their book.

Couverture du mlivre Breakthrough Project Management

Ian Heptinstall and Robert Bolton propose a form of contract known as a Project Alliance.  This aligns the commercial interests of the key members of the project team.  The team is selected much earlier than is usually the case, uses competence and capability more than bid-price to make the selection.  Risks and uncertainty are managed by the team as a whole, and the supply members’ financial reward is linked to the overall success of the project – not just their component.

This project team uses a method of planning and controlling project execution called CCPM (Critical Chain Project Management). CCPM is the driver for significantly reducing the project duration, reducing the cost of the project, and reducing a range of common project risks.  It is a relatively recent innovation in project management, and the authors believe that its use in capex projects has been limited because of the lack of a collaborative approach to contracts.  Contracting using a Project Alliance makes it much easier for the project team to use CCPM, which is the engine for the significant improvements that the authors believe are possible.

Their book, describes each of these elements, how they work, and how they help the project to overcome the issues that most projects encounter. Whilst each element could be applied by itself, it is the combination that delivers the guaranteed step-change improvement that Breakthrough Project Management can bring.

conférence Breakthrough Project Management

For more details about Breakthrough Project Management visit their website here.

For more details about their book click here.

 


Share this page 

About Marris Consulting

Marris Consulting is an industry consulting and training company specialized in the Theory of Constraints (ToC) and Critical Chain Project Management. We focus on improving the performance of manufacturing and process industries by using Constraints Management combined with Lean and Six Sigma. To boost project performance, we also use Critical Chain Project Management (CCPM), which we sometimes combine with Lean Engineering. Our 2-day performance audits, our performance consulting services and our project management, Lean & ToC training by our industry consultants offer a wide range of solutions to help our clients around the world reach the highest possible levels of performance.

Social networks

   

Contact

Tour Maine Montparnasse, 27éme étage
33, avenue du Maine - 75755 PARIS cedex 15

Tel. : +33 (0)1 71 19 90 40

Contact us via our form

Information

Who are we ?

FAQ

Legal Notice

Site map

Conférence "Breakthrough Project Management dans les projets d'investissement et de construction"

Accueil>Conférences>Conférence Breakthrough Project Management

Et si vos projets d'investissement étaient achevés aux deux tiers de la durée initialement prévue ?

Photo portrait de Ian Heptinstall

 

 

  • Lundi 17 octobre 2016, dans les locaux de Marris Consulting, Paris

  • Presenté par Ian Heptinstall, co-fondateur de Breakthrough Project Management

  • Conférence de 45 min suivie d'une séance de Questions / Réponses

La conférence (en anglais)

 

Ian Heptinstall et Robert Bolton ont publié en août 2016 The Executive Guide to Breakthrough Project Management. Le livre décrit une approche innovante de la gestion des projets d'investissement et de construction (Capex), qui offre des avantages significatifs et durables à la fois aux clients du projet et à la chaîne d'approvisionnement du projet. Ian Heptinstall a présenté ce livre lors de cette conférence.

Couverture du mlivre Breakthrough Project Management

Ian Heptinstall et Robert Bolton proposent une forme de contrat appelée "alliance de projet". Celle-ci permet d'aligner les intérêts commerciaux des principaux membres de l'équipe de projet. L'équipe est sélectionnée beaucoup plus tôt qu'à l'accoutumée et le choix se fait sur la base des compétences et des capacités plutôt que sur la base du prix de l'offre. Les risques et l'incertitude sont gérés par l'équipe dans son ensemble, et la récompense financière des membres de l'offre est liée à la réussite globale du projet - et pas seulement à leur composante.

Cette équipe projet utilise une méthode de planification et de contrôle de l'exécution du projet appelée CCPM (Critical Chain Project Management). La GCPC permet de réduire considérablement la durée du projet, d'en diminuer le coût et de réduire une série de risques courants.  Il s'agit d'une innovation relativement récente dans la gestion de projet, et les auteurs estiment que son utilisation dans les projets d'investissement a été limitée en raison de l'absence d'une approche collaborative des contrats.  La passation de contrats par le biais d'une alliance de projet permet à l'équipe projet d'utiliser beaucoup plus facilement la CCPM, qui est le moteur des améliorations importantes que les auteurs estiment possibles.

Leur livre décrit chacun de ces éléments, leur fonctionnement et la manière dont ils aident le projet à surmonter les problèmes que la plupart des projets rencontrent. Bien que chaque élément puisse être appliqué seul, c'est la combinaison de ces éléments qui permet d'obtenir l'amélioration progressive garantie par le Breakthrough Project Management.

 

conférence Breakthrough Project Management

 

Pour plus de détails sur le Breakthrough Project Management, regardez leur site internet ici.

Pour plus de détails sur leur livre, cliquez ici.


Partagez cette page sur

A propos de Marris Consulting

Marris Consulting est une société de conseil et de formation spécialisée dans la théorie des contraintes (ToC) et le management de projet de la chaîne critique. Nous nous concentrons sur l'amélioration des performances des industries de production et de process en utilisant le management par les contraintes associé au Lean et Six Sigma. Pour booster la performance des projets, nous utilisons également le management de projet par la Chaîne Critique (CCPM), que nous combinons parfois avec le Lean Engineering. Nos diagnostics de performance sur 2 jours, nos services de conseil en performance et nos formations en management de projet, Lean & ToC par nos consultants offrent une large gamme de solutions pour aider nos clients dans le monde entier à atteindre les niveaux de performance les plus élevés possibles.

Suivez-nous

   

Contact

Tour Maine Montparnasse, 27éme étage
33, avenue du Maine - 75755 PARIS cedex 15

Tel. : +33 (0)1 71 19 90 40

Contactez-nous via notre formulaire

Information

Qui sommes-nous

FAQ

Mentions légales

Plan du site